By Gordon D’Costa | Opening Doorz Editorial |November 13, 2016

Carl Dinshaw and Anil Cortez, both produced consistent performances to emerge champions, winning the Boys’ U-12 and U-14 singles titles respectively in the Indiabulls-Willingdon Sports Club (WSC) Junior Tennis Tournament 2016. The tournament which was conducted under the WSC Tennis Coaching Scheme, was held at the Wellingdon Sports Club, Worli.

Carl did not have to work too hard to defeat Rahul Cortez 6-2 in the one-set boy’s U-12 final today. In the boys’ U-14 title clash, Anil Cortez, the elder brother of Rahul, encountered initial resistance from Mishal Thapar before taking total control to clinch a 6-2 win. Both Anil and Mishal broke each other’s serves in the opening four games before Anil managed to win the next four games on the trot to close out the match.

Jehan Patel defeated Neel Gupta 6-2 to win the boys’ U-8 title and Dev Gehlaut bagged the boys’ U-10 crown defeating Behram Moos 6-4 in a closely fought final.

In competition for girls, Tara Kyal beat Devika Gehlaut 6-3 in the Group-A final, while Sudhiksha Mighlani won the Group-B final. Mighlani overcame Myra Singh 6-3. Ava Mehta bagged the Group-C title defeating Rhea Prasad 6-4, in a keenly fought tie.

Kimaya Mehta and Pryan Kantawala, were declared winners of the WSC IndiaBulls Promising Player Awards.

Boys U-8: Jehan Patel beat Neel Gupta 6-2.
Boys U-10: Dev Gehlaut beat Behram Moos 6-4.
Boys U-12: Carl Dinshaw beat Rahul Cortez 6-2.
Boys U-14: Anil Cortez beat Mishal Thapar 6-2.
Girls Group ‘A’: Tara Kyal beat Devika Gehlaut 6-3.
Girls Group ‘B’: Sudhiksha Mighlani beat Myra Singh 6-3.
Girls Group ‘C’: Ava Mehta beat Rhea Prasad 6-4.

Leave a Reply